[Guide] Locally Syncronized Password Management with KeePass XC/DX + Syncthing

Lets get things out of the way first. I do not work within the tech industry, I am just a regular tech enthusiast. I have also used only one other password manager previously (Dashlane). This current technique seems to work well for me and my use case for now and I have no need for other features as this time. Now, you can use Bitwarden to simplify all this. But it runs on the cloud and personally, I distrust the cloud in general because they give the impression that you are in control, when in fact you really do not know if you are in control. I also do not have any running servers that run/test a local copy of Bitwarden.

Basic internet hygiene these days requires us to use unique emails/logins and unique passwords for EVERY ONLINE ACCOUNTS that you have. Because I swear, almost every week, we hear of major breaches left and right, nevermind the small-ish leaks by minor internet companies that happens all the time. Simply put: If you are recycling account names and passwords on the internet, you are doing it wrong. It would leave you open to phishing, account theft/hijacking, etc.

With that, lets get to the things we need in this system:

1. Email - ProtonMail/Tutanota/RiseUp/Disroot/etc… something that is hopefully, not Google or Yahoo
  2. KeePass XC - For your PC password management
  3. KeePass DX - For your mobile password management
  4. Syncthing - Local file synchronization (may be optional. I suggest that you install and use it as well). No iOS support at this time. Apologies, this may work with other file-sync services.
  5. Disposable Email Aliases (optional) - 33mail is what I use to funnel all miscellaneous accounts into.