What VPN do you use?

I’m looking to get a VPN for Linux. leaning towards PIA. I just want to know what everybody uses for VPN or a secure connection.

Thanks
T.J. Wolf

I use PIA. I was looking when someone from PIA was interviewed on Destination Linux (I think) and that convinced me. I’ve seen reports that seem to confirm their “no logging” claims. I am not in a situation (yet, who knows the way BREXIT and the UK is going) to hve any desperate need for secrecy, but I like having what I can get just in case.

2 Likes

I try to use PIA and do when it works but there are many times that it is either abysmally slow or just outright doesn’t work. I have a subscription to Nord that I never use because it is always slow for me. The one I tend to use the most is Windscribe which has servers close to me so performance is good and a Linux CLI client. They are working on a GUI as well but I like the current client is just fine. I am considering setting up an OpenVPN server on DO to see if that might be a good option once my current subscriptions expire.

1 Like

If you can do a video on setting it up on YouTube. OpenVPN video. I never heard of Windscribe I will check them out. Do you need a server as well for OpenVPN that will be costly? won’t it

I’ll definitely do a video on it when I try it out. I believe it can be run from a $5/mo DigitalOcean server which is not that expensive compared to most VPN services. When I get around to it I will use their tutorial How To Set Up an OpenVPN Server on Ubuntu 18.04.

2 Likes

Check out Proton VPN. Though they don’t have linux gui yet.

3 Likes

I wonder why, the only times it’s not worked for me was on non-systemd (MX-18 and Devuan) and MX sorted that and now the MX Package Installer includes it - I have to go back to the MX Package Installer each time the version of PIA updates, but no biggie.