Non Gmail Email

What’s everyone using for Email, that isn’t Gmail? Can be paid or free, just curious about the options. I’ve tried some of TutaNota and ProtonMail, but my main one is still on another free, unencrypted email. Mobile client isn’t so important, just curious what everyone is using.

I use a few.

• self-hosted because I’ve done this way since '97
  • gmail for normies
  • protonMaill for those who know
  • mailinator for burners
1 Like

+1 for Mailinator. Use that for eveything that requires an email address that I do not need.

If only email was federated! :laughing: Then one self-hosted email address could, in theory, do it all.

BTW: I have an embarrasing hodge podge similar to you:

• protonmail
  • tutanota
  • 2 self-hosted email domains (ISPconfig)

PS: Dear Gmail, your overly-sensitive spam classification needs to get real, such that you don’t single-handedly ruin email federation.

2 Likes

My email is hosted via NameCheap, where my website is hosted and where I buy domains. I use RoundCube via cPanel on the server. So web interface works for me. I’ve never found a native email client I liked on Windows, Mac or Linux.

I use mainly protonmail.

1 Like

Another happy self-hoster here for the last 8 years.

Six years ago I migrated to a Mailcow instance and haven’t looked back. It has run on the same IP for the entire time so rarely gets blacklisted.

Wouldn’t go back, it just works.

I mostly use Protonmail for my email stuff at this point. They have been quite good at what I need from an email provider without having to go down the self hosting route

Protonmail user here.

I have two - Posteo and Protonmail. Protonmail has a better web client (and has its own mobile client), but Posteo is cheaper. It’s so cheap in fact (1 Euro a month IIRC) that I just keep renewing it even though I do all of my day-to-day with Protonmail.

Is the ProtonMail popularity because it’s E2EE ? But only with other Protonmail users?