Is Cockpit the solution?

I am doing sysAdmin for a WISP. Linux was supposed to be a driving reason for me being hired, but in reality the owner/engineer/architect does not want to spend time in a shell. He runs Windoze, and wants to administer from Windoze. I need to admin from Linux through and through for sanity’s sake.

A couple months back we demo’d Cockpit on a CEntOS 7 install, and it was lacking. However, on the CEntOS/RHEL 8 and Fedora 31 installs it has moved the needle quite a bit.

A major solution he is looking for is the ability to manage virtual machines from a web or application interface much like VMWare. This was the inspiring feature addition that makes Cockpit look like a promising solution.

I have spent a lot of time in Virtual Machine Manager, but I have very little experience with VMWare or the capabilities of the interface. Will Cockpit’s virtual machine management features hold weight with the VMWare of yesteryear to allow cross-platform administrative management of our Linuxy daemons?

Thanks for the show Eric and Brandon!

Doesn’t oVirt have a nice pretty interface?

1 Like

Thanks for the question!

oVirt would be a great option. Though, Cockpit in RHEL8/Fedora is MUCH improved. I use it for managing VMs on my local host. In fact, Virtual Machine Manager is being replaced by Cockpit.

1 Like

I’ve been keeping a distance eye on Cockpit. Maybe it’s time to upgrade the home lab Linux server from CentOS 7 to CentOS 8 and take another look at Cockpit.

I can’t run oVirt on my server because oVirt does not support AMD cpu’s. It didn’t last time I checked ( about a year ago ), so that might have changed. I’ve been using virt-manager and some plugin I found that allows me to authenticate remotely so that I can manage VM’s from my laptop ( Linux-based ).

@Abstract_Penguin keep us updated as I’m curious to learn about the solution you end up deploying.

1 Like