Fedora 34. Possible to clone my main drive while using it?

Linux newbie here. In Windows there’s something called Volume Shadow Service (VSS) that allows a clone of the drive to be created while the drive is in use. Is there anything like this for Linux? If yes, which cloning apps can do this?
Can this somehow be done using a VM?
I want to clone my main drive (Fedora 34 on BTRFS) while I’m using it.

There is Timeshift which is very popular for making backups of the system. It is available for pretty much every distro. I know that MXLinux has it’s own ISO tool that allows you to make an ISO of your system. Both Timeshift and MXLinux’s ISO work while the system is running. I can’t say whether they’re technically cloning the system drive though. Timeshift is not suggested for backing up the home folder so it’s certainly not cloning in that aspect. Whether there is a particular app for Fedora or Redhat I can’t say. I don’t have any experience in either.

1 Like

use BTRFS snapshots Incremental backups with Btrfs snapshots - Fedora Magazine

2 Likes

To make a long story short, I’m giving up on Fedora (what a nightmare!) and will try Ubuntu. So this thread is resolved. Thanks for all your replies! Appreciated.

GitHub - MX-Linux/lum-qt-appimage: appimage package for the live-usb-maker system from antiX and MX, renamed here live-usb-maker-qt Is this the tool you’re referring to?

(And I’m also using Timeshift to take system shapshots.)

No, it’s under MX Tools and along with the Live USB Maker is under the Live section. The application to which I referred is Snapshot. It creates an iso of the OS drive.

1 Like

I’m sorry but it’s not clear where this MX Tools is. Can you provide a direct link to MX Tools ISO creation tool?

I googled MX Tools ISO creator but didn’t find it.

Hey there! If you want to clone your drive there are a few questions you might want to answer: