Elementary Os Workspaces

Hi, so I am a complete noob to linux, I have installed elementary os juno, and just have a question about workspaces.

At first I really liked the idea of them, but they don’t seem to work how I would expect, and with no frame of reference im not sure if it’s an elementary specific thing or just my thoughts on how they’d work being wrong.

So the specific issue I have is I might have Firefox open on a workspace, then I start a new workspace, and open up Firefox. I thought it would open a completely separate instance, but it just loads up another tab on Firefox in the other workspace. The dock also seems to follow the workspaces round and not be separate for each workspace.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

I cannot help you with the Firefox behavior because I do not use Elementary but I know you can adjust settings for the dock, it is called Plank. There must be an option to change the default behavior to show only apps that are open on each workspace instead of showing them all.
As I do not use this desktop I am not sure where to find the preferences for it but I think there are somewhere in the ‘Elementary Control Center’ or maybe even a right click on the dock.

1 Like

Interesting, I’ll check it out, thanks!

Workspaces work differently depending on the DE so for example in GNOME and KDE Plasma they work quite differently from elementary as well.

In the case of Firefox, this is a default behavior of Firefox because having multiple instances is not a recommended option due to the fact that it wouldn’t solve any issue that you couldn’t do with a separate window instead.

So if you want to have a separate instance then you will need to right click the icon and there might be a New Instance option. I dont use elementaryOS to know for sure but it is an option in KDE Plasma to do that so it should be available in elementary as well.