242: License To Thrill With Open Source (Explaining Licenses & Why To Use Them)

3 Likes

Just listened to the show. Great topics, so big thanks to the crew.
Also somebody seems to listen to Darknet diaries as well. :smile:

2 Likes

PREFACE: Hopefully this is taken as constructive criticism, as I love this show and network. Also, I am not a lawyer…just a humble software developer. Take with a hefty dose of salt.

Oof, the license section was difficult to listen to. I understand not wanting to start license wars, but by not having any developers or open source project leaders on this segment it sounded…uninformed to say the least. You need people with some stake or skin the game to give full opinions and nuance. There are huge, non-inflammatory discussions to be had around things like:

• Why are licenses like the MIT or Apache 2.0 license so popular?
  • Why are major companies explicitly avoiding GPL licensed software?
  • Is it better to release a GPL project that isn’t used, or an Apache 2.0 project which gains massive adoption?
  • What are the ethics behind “open core” models, or changing/restricting the license in future version?
  • What are the ethics of “open source adjacent” license models which restrict massive (Amazon/Google scale) users only
  • What are the ethics of licenses that restrict only certain types of industries (i.e. weapons, etc.)
  • Noah says the GPL is good because it has teeth, whereby one must also release modiffications under the same terms…but this presupposes that anyone downstream will 1) comply with the license at all, 2) that you original author are willing to go through a complicated and expensive legal system (not even considering multi-national issues) and 3) the GPL will actually withstand and hold up in said court. How should project owners consider these facets when picking a license?
  • What about GPLv2 vs GPLv3? Why does Linux stay v2?